In 1894, the architect of San Francisco’s iconic Ferry Building completed work on Trinity St. Peters Episcopal Church’s sanctuary on Bush & Gough Streets. Since then, this building has housed the oldest Episcopal Church west of the Mississippi. The church survived the devastation of the massive earthquake and fire of 1906 and went on to cultivate a strong, faith-based community centered on radical welcome and service. In the 1980s its forward-looking clergy opened its doors to victims of the AIDS crisis. Project Open Hand, still active today, was founded within these walls to provide meals to victims of serious illness. The robust building was shaken once again by the Loma Prieta earthquake in 1989. Not only did it survive the wreckage, but the church opened its doors to hundreds of San Francisco residents made homeless by the earthquake. Today it houses treasures of its 122-year history, including a historic 1924 E.M. Skinner pipe organ, the oldest surviving stained glass in San Francisco, and artwork by Louis Comfort Tiffany.

But in 2009 this beautiful church had to close its doors to the public. Seismic strengthening work is needed to ensure that this historic building remains safe for use. Construction work must begin by September 2017 or the church may close its doors forever. The work required is not extensive, and every donation helps.

Help Trinity St. Peters open the big red doors and donate today.